Governance of District Police, Kannur

Kannur Police is headed by an officer of the rank of District Police Chief (DPC ). The District Police has 4 Sub Divisions, Viz. Kannur, Iritty, Taliparamba and Thalassery each headed by a Deputy Superintendent of Police.In addition to this, various special units like Special Branch, DCRB, Narcotic Cell and Crime Dettachment headed by a Deputy Superintendent of Police are also functioning under the Superintendent of Police. A Vanitha Cell under a WCI is also functioning under the Supervision of Deputy Superintendent of Police, Crime Detachment. The District Armed Reserve Camp headed by a Deputy Commandant is functioning with its headquarters near District Police Office.