Janamaithri Suraksha

Janamaithri Suraksha Project

Janamaithri Suraksha Project seeks the responsible participation of the citizens in crime prevention at the level of the local community, conserving the resources, both of the community and of the police, in fighting against crimes which threaten the security of the community. Experience shows that by seeking the active co-operation of the public in performance of police duties, the process of Law Enforcement becomes far more effective.

The first phase of Janamaithri Suraksha Project was started in Payyannur Poice Station in Kannur district on 27-03-2008, Second phase in Thalassery Police Station on 01-08-2009. Third phase in Kannur Town, Edakkad Panoor, Kuthuparamba, Mattanur, Kannapuram, Thaliparamba and Sreekandpuram Police stations in the year 2011. After the success of the project in the above police stations limits the project was also started in seven police stations ie Alakode, Valapattanam, Kannur City, Iritty, Peravoor, Aralam, and Kelakam in March 2013. In the fifth phase the scheme was also implemented in Irikkur Police station on 5th January 2015.

At present, there are 18 Janamaithri Police Stations in Kannur district. Janamaithri police in the district have conducted various activities to bring about people friendly policing initiatives in the day to day functioning of police

Janamaithri Police Stations in Kannur District Police

  • Payyannur
  • Thalassery
  • Kannur Town
  • Edakkad
  • Panoor
  • Kuthuparamba
  • Mattanur
  • Kannapuram
  • Thaliparamba
  • Sreekandpuram
  • Alakode
  • Valapattanam
  • Kannur City
  • Iritty
  • Peravoor
  • Aralam
  • Kelakam
  • Irikkur