Iritty Circle

490 - 2491221

Iritty circle was formed on 09.12.1973 as per GO MS NO 135/73/Home dated 03.08.1973.Initially Iritty Police Station was an Out Post of Mattanur Police Station .It was later raised to the status of a Police Station with the strength of one SI, one HC and ten PCs by attaching Mananthavady Circle. The Police Station of Iritty, Peravoor and Kelakam were detached from Mananthavady Circle and Ulikkal from Taliparamba Circle and formed Iritty Circle. Karikkottakari Police Station was formed on 08.09.1978 as per GO(Rt) No. 1800/78/Home dated 06/09/1978 and Aralam Police station on 05.02.1984 vide GO (Rt) No. 314/84/Home dated 04.02.1984 and both these Stations were added to the Iritty Circle. Thus Iritty Circle comprised of six Police Stations viz Iritty, Peravoor, Kelakam, Karikkottakari, Aralam and Ulikkal. It was one of the largest Circles in the Kannur District in areas extending 939 SqKms. Later when the third Sub Division was formed in Taliparamba and a new Circle was created at Peravoor also as per GO MS No 17/87/Home dated 03.02.1987. Iritty Circle was re-organized including Iritty, Ulikkal, Aralam and Karikkottakari Police Stations and Peravoor Circle was formed with Peravoor, Kelakam and Maloor Police Stations.

Iritty Circle was included with Iritty Sub Division after its formation on 14.01.2005.Muzhakunnu Police Station is formed on 28.06.2016 as per GO (Rt) No. 1615/Home/2016 Dated: 13.05.2016( SRO No. 396/2016) and it is fifth police station of the Iritty Circle.

Sub Division - Iritty