Kannur City Circle

497 - 2731187 ciknrcityknr.pol@kerala.gov.in

As per the GO(MS) 126/82 Home dtd 04 10 1982, a new Circle namely Cannanore Rural Circle was came into existence, comprising of Cannanore City, Baliapattam (Valapattanam), Kannapuram, Edakkad and Chakkarakkal Police Stations. The office of the new Cannanore Rural Circle was opened on 09 02 1983 on the upstair of old Cannanore City Police Station. Lator Baliapattam (Valapattanam) and Kannapuram Police stationswere taken out for forming a new circle namely Cannanore Town Circle. Thus the jurisdiction of Cannanore Rural Circle was limited to Cannanore City, Edakkad and Chakkarakkal PS as per GO(Rt) 2164/86 Home and the name of Cannanore Rural Circle was changed as Kannur City Circle and functioning in the Govt. building at Marakkarkandy in Kannur City Police Station under Kannur Municipality, presently Kannur Corporation from 18 12 1989. Later a proposal for the construction of a separate building for the Kannur City Circle office was initiated by the Superintendent of Police, Kannur vide File No E2-59891/01 C dtd 12 12 2001, on the upstairs of Kannur City Police Station building. Susequently, as per the Govt. Order(Rt) 1706/02 Home dtd 17 08 2002, sanction was accorded for the construction of Circle office, consequently the building was inaugurated on 15 10 2003 at 1100 hrs, by his elegance Sri. Venugopal K Nair IPS, the Inspector General of Police, North Zone, in the esteemed presence of Sri. N Shankar Reddy IPS, the Deputy Inspector General of Police, Kannur Range and Sri. Manoj Abraham IPS, the Superintendent of Police, Kannur. At present Sri. K V Pramodan, Inspctor of Police is holding the charge of Kannur City Circle.

Sub Division - Kannur

Police Stations - Kannur City, Edakkad and Chakkarakkal